REVIEW: Shenanoah – Good News Travels Fast

shenandoah-goodnewstravelsfastProducer: Bud McGuire and Mike McGuire
Label: Daywind Roots
Website: Bud McGuire and Mike McGuire

[yasr_overall_rating size=”medium”]

For those who remember the 90s, specifically Country Music in the 90s, then you may remember Shenandoah. If Shenandoah doesn’t ring a bell then maybe Marty Raybon will. Marty is the lead singer of this group and has ventured out as a solo artist as well. Raybon returns to the group and for the first time in a decades long career in music, Shenandoah has released a gospel recording.

The first release on Daywind Music Group’s new roots based label, Daywind Roots, Good News Travels Fast offers a lot for fans of n ot just Shenanoah, but classic country as a whole. There is something to be said about that 90s country sound that also influenced Christian artists like Jeff and Sheri Easter, The Freemans, the Crabb Family and others. When you listen to this project you will experience that sound. Also the project features prominent and established gospel singer Karen Peck Gooch. Karen’s angelic soprano voice would sweeten any song, and she sounds great on SECONDS COUNT.

Album highlights include the harmony-laden and catchy opening track “A Cross Between a Sinner and a Saint,” the first radio single “Good News Travels Fast,” and anthem “If I’m Right.” The album could use a couple of real country barn-burners to up the pace a bit, and another cover of “Hallelujah For the Cross” seems too much at this point. (Daywind has already released versions of this song by Karen Peck & New River and Michael English in the last year.)

Most of the album was written by Raybon and members of Shenandoah with help from Jerry Salley, Gerald Crabb, and Tim Menzies. Shenandoah fans will definitely want to take a listen to this project.

Track Listing:
1. A Cross Between a Sinner and a Saint
2. Didn’t It Rain
3. Good News Travels Fast
4. Hallelujah for the Cross
5. I Know He Knows
6. Seconds Count (feat. Karen Peck)
7. Stained Glass
8. Sunday Morning Sermon
9. Just Wait, Be Still
10. Like Every Days a Sunday
11. If I’m Right

[yasr_visitor_votes size=”large”]

Rocky Logan

Rocky Logan is a singer/songwriter who makes his home in Norman, OK. Rocky previously traveled with the trio 2nd Generation. He currently attends Harvest Church of Norman where he is on the Worship team and involved with the Music Ministry there. Rocky also performs select solo dates, you can find his Facebook Page at .
Back to top button