REVIEW: LeFevre Quartet – Home

lefevrequartet-somethingProducer:  Tre’ Corley and Paul Corley
Label:  Activate Records

[yasr_overall_rating size=”medium”]

LeFevre is a name synonymous with gospel music.  Much like Speer, Goodman, Weatherford, Blackwood and the like, the family name carries a legacy and Mike LeFevre has done a tremendous job carrying on the LeFevre name.  This latest release features some really great songs and is kind of a mixed bag, musically, but doesn’t seem to really gel into a really great cohesive recording.

The recording starts out with the title song, “HOME”.  This Rusty Goodman classic is given a classy touch and is the most solid singing on this recording.  Though there are some really good moments found here, the opening song is a solid home run and the best song on the recording.

Jordan steps up to sing the Phil Cross penned, “HE SAVED ME ANYWAY” and the song is a highlight of the recording before Jordan sings the reflective, “I DON’T KNOW WHY”.

Featuring a strong and steady beat, Mike, Jordan and Jeremy sing the triumphant, “HE WAS THERE” and is a highlight of the recording before bass vocalist, Brandon Berry (who is no longer with the group) turns in an excellent performance on the emotionally tinged, “TO SAY GOODBYE” (previously recorded by Joey + Rory).  Jordan then steps back up to sing the encouraging, “HE LEFT NO STONE UNTURNED”.

The tempo picks up a bit for the more traditional sounding “SOMETHING” before slowing back down as Jeremy sings the ballad, “I’LL DO ANYTHING”.  Mike steps up next for the comforting, “ALL I CAN DO IS PRAY”.

The tempo gets kicked back up for “UNSEEN THINGS ABOVE” before we return to “I DON’T KNOW WHY”.  As a bonus track, the song is revisited with guest vocalist, Les Cheveldayoff (who plays Jesus on TBN).

This is a very good recording, but the recording doesn’t have a completely consistent sound.  The title song, “Home” sticks out (the best song on the recording in my opinion) and the rest of the recording has a completely different feel.  There are some really great songs here, but musically it doesn’t quite gel.  I will admit, I haven’t followed the group that closely, but have enjoyed some of their music over the years.  Part of me is still waiting on them to come up with a consistent sound.  I am extremely hopeful that the current group can stay together and create some magic with their next recording.

Song titles: (stars denote personal favorites)

1 – Home**
2 – He Saved Me Anyway**
3 – I Don’t Know Why
4 – He Was There**
5 – To Say Goodbye**
6 – He Left No Stone Unturned**
7 – Something
8 – I’ll Do Anything
9 – All I Can Do Is Pray
10-Unseen Things Above**
11-I Don’t Know Why (Bonus Track)

[yasr_visitor_votes size=”large”]

James Hales

James Hales, from Durham, North Carolina, has been a writer for since 2000. James is our featured reviewer and also contributes to monthly features periodically.
Back to top button