REVIEW: Greater Vision – You’ve Arrived

Producer:  Trey Ivey
Label:  Daywind Records

[yasr_overall_rating size=”medium”]

One of the smartest things Greater Vision has done was hire Job Epley, as he has added so much to their sound.  He has not changed their sound, but has enhanced their sound immensely.  This is his 3rd recording with the group and it’s their best recording in years.  And it’s not just vocally, but on all points…production, song selection, arrangements, etc..  This ranks as one of their best recordings, and I think their fans will heartily agree!

The catchy title song, “YOU’VE ARRIVED” is a great opening song for the recording and features a nice track with an easy country feel before slowing down a bit for the Chris Allman penned, “THAT BLIND MAN WAS ME”, which features Jon Epley.

Chris steps up to sing the soulful, “I’VE BEEN WASHED CLEAN” before the tempo gets kicked back up as Rodney sings, “THAT TEMPORARY PLACE”.

Lee Black, Scott Inman and Sue Smith penned the easy-going song, “A SONG ABOUT THE BLOOD”, which features Jon and is a highlight of the recording, before Rodney steps back up to sing his own composition, “I REMEMBER THE FISH”, which is a wonderful story-song depicting the story of the boy who gave the bread and fish, but from a unique perspective.

“LOVE, PRAY, SMILE, PAUSE, REPEAT” is a fun little ditty with a bit of a Texas Swing that’s a little different for Greater Vision.  It’s a highlight of the recording and one I’m sure goes over well in concert.

No Greater Vision recording would be complete without a power ballad, and the Rodney Griffin penned, “STRONGER THAN THE STORM” fits the bill perfectly and leads effortlessly into the nice quiet feel of the Wayne Haun/Joel Lindsey penned, “SING JESUS”, which features Chris.

The recording closes with the anthem, “GOD HAS BUILT A FORTRESS”, penned by Dianne Wilkinson, and is an appropriate exclamation point to finish off the recording.

The music of Greater Vision hasn’t piqued my interest probably for the last 5-6 years.  While they’ve always put out strong material, there hasn’t been a lot that has stood out for me since their 2013 release, For All He’s Done.  This latest release is probably one of their best collection of songs in a long time.  They’ve reached out and included several songs written by other individuals, and this alone has added some extra spark to their music.  Plus, producer Trey Ivey has done a splendid job pulling it all together and making one excellent recording.  I have thoroughly enjoyed listening to this recording and it’s one of the best releases for 2019!


Track Listing:
(stars denote personal favorites)

You’ve Arrived**
That Blind Man Was Me**
I’ve Been Washed Clean**
That Temporary Place
A Song About the Blood**
I Remember the Fish**
Love, Pray, Smile, Pause, Repeat**
Stronger than the Storm
Sing Jesus**
God Has Built a Fortress


[yasr_visitor_votes size=”large”]

James Hales

James Hales, from Durham, North Carolina, has been a writer for since 2000. James is our featured reviewer and also contributes to monthly features periodically.
Back to top button